in ,

The Recycling Partnership announces results of board election


The Recycling Partnership, Falls Church, Virginia, recently elected seven new members to its board of directors. The company says the newly elected board directors bring unmatched sustainability, industry and business expertise to help lead its work to transform the U.S. recycling system and activate a circular economy for packaging.  

“The U.S. is at a critical juncture where the public, corporate leaders and policymakers are aligned on sustainability needs and there is opportunity to accelerate change like never before,” says Keefe Harrison, CEO of The Recycling Partnership. “The Recycling Partnership is a fiercely mission-driven organization, and we appreciate the service of these board members in driving stronger recycling and a circular economy.”

The newly elected directors include Sara Axelrod (director of sustainability, Ball Corp.), Diego Donoso (president of packaging & specialty plastics, Dow), Robert Flores (vice president of sustainability, Berry Global), Anitra Marsh (vice president of global sustainability, citizenship and communications, Procter & Gamble Beauty), Alpa Sutaria (vice president & general manager of sustainability, The Coca-Cola Co.) and Robin Wiener (president, Institute of Scrap Recycling Industries). Monique Oxender, chief sustainability officer at Keurig Dr Pepper, was re-elected to the board for a second term.

Scott Hemink (ITQ director, General Mills) was appointed to the board to fill the seat of resigning board member Nicole Collier (formerly of Nestle).

These directors join current directors: Steve Alexander (CEO and president, Association of Plastic Recyclers), Kim Carswell (principal of packaging, Target), Keith Christman (managing director, Plastics Division, American Chemistry Council), David Clark (vice president of sustainability, Amcor), Megan Daum (vice president of sustainability, American Beverage Association), Scott DeFife (president, Glass Packaging Institute) and Brian Hawkinson (executive director of Recovered Fiber, American Forest & Paper Association).

At the June 8 board meeting, officers were also appointed to the executive committee:

  • Chair – David Clark (Amcor)
  • Vice-Chair – Diego Donoso (Dow)
  • Vice-Chair – Monique Oxender (Keurig Dr Pepper)
  • Treasurer – Steve Alexander (Association of Plastic Recyclers)
  • Secretary – Sara Axelrod (Ball Corp.)

“The Recycling Partnership’s members know that by working together we can achieve a much bigger impact realizing environmental, social and economic benefits of better recycling,” says David Clark, chairman of the board of The Recycling Partnership and vice president of Sustainability at Amcor. “The Partnership has the best combination of on-the-ground experience, expertise and partners to lead recycling programs in the U.S. toward a more circular economy. I’m excited to be working with this year’s board, funding partners and TRP staff to help bring that vision to reality.”


This article was written by

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Parra for Cuva releases new music video – Plastic Magazine

Parra for Cuva releases new music video – Plastic Magazine

Environmental organisations call on UK Government to ban polluting plastics

Environmental organisations call on UK Government to ban polluting plastics